Never give up.

My favorite instructor in culinary school always said “time is not your friend”. Not only does that ring true in a kitchen, it is a mantra for life. You only have so much time on this earth. So, indeed, “time is not your friend.” So after many days of waiting, I thought my chance at a premier golf resort restaurant had come and gone. No email, no call return nada. So, I went to visit my daughter before the fall and things got busy. The day after my visit was the one that may have changed my life.

After sulking and being bummed I had to head back to the work flow and missing my daughter, I checked my email. There it was in big bold letters from the executive chef himself. Their system had crashed and he personally offered me the position as a prep cook at one of the most prestigious resorts in North Carolina possibly the southeast.

I of course accepted, the flurry of paperwork almost overwhelming, and I sit here mind blown. How in the world did I get here? How has my dream flourished so quickly? Who am I that I should deserve this chance? And it dawned on me. I worked my ever loving ass off for it.
Doubles, free labor, volunteer, endless nights studying technique and flavor combinations. Staring at the primal cuts of a cow like my life depended on it.

To reach your dreams, you gotta be willing to put in the work. The thankless, 14 hour days, no sleep, back hurts, burnt fingers, grind. You have to want it as bad as you want to breathe. I have a long long journey ahead, but I’d be nowhere near my dream as I am today, if I didn’t take that leap, never give up, and work my ass off for it. Never give up. Even when defeat is imminent. Face hardship with a smile and a never say die attitude. It will not be easy. It will kick your ass. You will face failure. But you have to have a bigger why than the what that is stopping you.

When you think you can’t go another day, realize that you said that yesterday.

Bon appétit

Leave a Reply

