The 8 count.

This morning I couldn’t sleep so I decided to take a very early stroll. Those Mornings so early you’re up before the birds. Lately I feel like the walls have been closing in on me, and I have been restless. I haven’t been cooking, my knives sit idle nicely tucked away in my chefs roll. Not sure if it’s not getting the job I wanted, or some health issues, or what, but I spun out into a pity party of epic proportions. For the first time in my culinary journey I had a knockdown. Every great chef has them, and I’m sure it’s not my last.

Those times where life makes you wonder, second guess yourself,  sucks the wind from your sails, and more often than not, we listen to it. We listen to the doubt and start justifying not getting back up by saying “I’m just taking an 8 count Ill get back at it tomorrow.”  Denzel Washington said once, “Get knocked down 7 times, get up 8.”

So what you didn’t get that dream job. Work harder, apply again. and again. and again.  Ego is assuming you’ll be given something for showing up, Drive is going out and  claiming what is rightfully yours.

I sat down and wrote 5 things I’ve done in the past week to improve my skills and what I’m doing to reach my goals. I could name two. Gut check. I let my pity party get in the way of my passion. Support is important and you should shut out the nay sayers, however there are times when you have to shut out the enablers as well.  Those saying “aw you poor thing.” That can be just as destructive as those who say you can’t.

So, next time you get knocked down, don’t listen to that little voice in your head saying “just stay down for a second. take the 8 count.”  I want anyone reading this to imagine hitting the canvas, staring at the lights for a brief second and visualize, and hear the crowd. “Get up, Get up, Get up” louder and louder as you crawl hand by hand up the ropes. The roar. Smack them gloves together and you get right back in that fight, and give em hell kid. That is how winning is done. Cause they’re expecting you to lay down for a minute. You get right back up and you knock life’s block off.

Leave a Reply

