Pies!

My mom and Aunt have always been the pie masters of the family. Ever since I was a kid, I used to envy how they would make pie dough from scratch, fill it with yummy goodness, and it would always look amazing. My how the tables have turned!

This week we learned pie making techniques, mealy dough, flaky dough, rolling out the crust, and how to use fillings. We made a blueberry pie with a “lattice” top which is like a basket weave.  I had so much fun at school I just had to take my new skills home!

I took our basic apple crumb pie recipe and used fresh granny smith and honeycrisp apples. The leaves were hand cut and I used the flaky technique and lattice for the top. The above results were obviously a success and twice as delicious. For a guy who never used to bake, it must run in the family!

Leave a Reply

